Winter’s a Comin’

The days have started getting shorter here and the weather a little colder as we get closer to the holidays and time continues flying by as if it’s a race. As of yesterday, M and I have been married for 5 months. I don’t know where the time has gone. It seems like we just got here and were just taking a taxi to the Arlington courthouse in a happy daze. M of course laughed at me when I noted it was our 5 month wedding anniversary. “5 months? One less than 6 months?”

So we’ve been keeping busy as usual. I feel like I say that every time I write a post, but it’s the best way to describe life right now. We had our first visitors this past week – one of my best friends from home and her husband – and had a great time with them. It was so nice to see familiar, friendly faces. I will say though, it’s a good thing we don’t have visitors all the time, because we consumed about double the amount of wine and food that we normally do, and our normal levels aren’t really that low…

In addition to having friends visit for a week, I got big news…I officially have a job! Woohoo! If you heard some really loud cheering a week or so ago, that was M yelping with joy from all the way across the pond. I think he’s just happy he won’t have to witness me sleeping in the morning while he trudges out into the cold. Needless to say, I’ll be working at the embassy and I’m stoked, to put it mildly. My start date is still TBD, so I have a few more weeks of freedom left. But as I’ve been telling everyone, knowing that the search is over is wonderful – I can FINALLY enjoy my unemployment. 🙂

Some “after” pictures of the apartment will be coming soon. We’ve been doing a ton of work these past few weekends, and it’s really starting to come together. As a result of that, we’re finally giving ourselves a break this weekend, and heading here:

Pictures of Cisswood House, Lower Beeding
Le sigh. Hello countryside retreat. We purchased yet another living social and/or groupon deal – I can’t tell the difference anymore – and this one takes us to Cisswood House Hotel in West Sussex. The deal includes a night at the hotel of course, wine at dinner, and…MASSAGES! If you can’t tell, I’m thrilled about that part. The hotel is also close to the coast, so we’ll be heading to Brighton, one of the most popular beach towns near London, on Sunday for a short day trip before heading back to the city. Cheers to a relaxing weekend.
2 thoughts on “Winter’s a Comin’

  1. Congratulations on the job! And on celebrating five months of marriage. Our five-month “anniversary” was on our packout day!

    Your blog post title reminded me of “Game of Thrones” (have you watched the show/read the books)? They always say, “Winter is coming.” Very ominously.

    Have a fun trip!

    Like

  2. Thanks! And yes, I'm actually completely obsessed with Game of Thrones right now. I just finally started watching it about two weeks ago, and I'm a few episodes into the second season. So so good! I didn't even think about the connection to the “winter” title – ha – but so true.

    Like

Leave a Reply

