The Sad Life of International Appliances

Yesterday, we had a sad moment. M’s hairdryer died. That’s right. He managed to kill it, even while having it plugged into this thing:

IMG_0431

That, my friends, is a lovely box that the embassy provided, otherwise known to us as, “that power transformer/converter/really fricken’ heavy…thing.” What it does, is convert voltage for you, rather than just working as a regular plug adapter. If you’ve traveled abroad, you know that certain appliances usually blow pretty quickly, so having an actual transformer is oh so nice, and is one of those random things that I’ve come to rely on gratefully in this life abroad of ours. I’ve lost many a curling iron and hair dryer to foreign countries, but apparently I’ve finally learned my lesson, because I haven’t killed anything since we’ve moved here. M, on the other hand, has had quite the magic touch.

The first week after we got our UAB, the Wii died a lively, sparkly death (it actually still works, just the power adapter attached to it blew, thankfully). After that, a coffee maker bit the dust. Luckily, it was one of three that we had, including one that was a permanent part of our transit kit, and thus, has a UK plug and works just fine. A week after the coffee maker though, our stove fan and light blew. That one was especially good, because – yes – the stove fan and light came with the apartment. Meaning, they don’t have plugs that we can see. Uh huh. I have no idea how that happened either. It was explained to me that the toaster and fan were on at the same time, and so a fuse blew, and…right. So finally, last night, the hairdryer left us. And no, he wasn’t blowdrying his hair at 10pm, he was blowdrying the carpet since I spilled red wine on it and we had to douse it with water. Oops. This is why I choose to laugh as all this stuff gets slowly destroyed, and say a little prayer that it’s not me doing it. Leave the carpets to me, appliances to M. I think we’re pretty even now. But anyway, it definitely makes me think twice about a few things. For instance, we just started doing our wedding registries online (I know – it’s the fun part and we waited a long time to do it), and I’ve stopped myself a few times from picking a nicer appliance – just in case the husband gets a hold of it.

2 thoughts on “The Sad Life of International Appliances

  1. Oh no … I have heard that transformers kill appliances pretty easily. We are lucky here in San Salvador — the voltage is the same as it is in the U.S. I also think it's funny that your husband has (/had) a hairdryer!

    Like

  2. Haha, yeah, I'm pretty sure I made fun of him a bit for having a hairdryer when I found out. Definitely gone now! And oooh, yet another reason to hope El Salvador is on our next bid list! I didn't know the voltage was the same. It's been a bit of a pain dealing with it here, but I think the transformers have worked pretty well so far (granted, we're only 4 months in…), and the husband just has exceptionally bad luck with appliances.

    Like

Leave a Reply

