New Year’s in London

It’s a new year! So excited for 2014 and all of the fun things to come. I have a good feeling about this year. Or, it could just be that I really like even numbers. Either way, on New Year’s Eve, I found myself looking back on the year, and then thinking in general what an amazing past few years I’ve had, and wondering how this one could top any of them.

2013 was obviously wonderful. We got married – again, got to travel to more amazing places than one person should be allowed to see, and started to really feel like London was home. In 2012 we got married for the first time, moved to London, got new jobs, and I finished grad school. That’s almost every major life event all in one year. 2011 was the year M & I met. Obviously a good year. 2010 was when it really all started — I got the guts to quit my good, but unfulfilling job, had the time of my life traveling around South America, and got to go to my top choice for grad school.

So that’s four stellar years in a row. I’m hoping that my luck isn’t up and that this good feeling about 2014 becomes reality. At the very least, it’s sure to be busy. We’ll be moving back to DC, starting language training, and traveling around the US on home leave for 4 weeks. And before any of that happens, we’ll be making the most out of our time here in the UK and Europe, and have family coming to visit before we leave.

We ended 2013 right at least. For New Years, we went to dinner at a nearby restaurant called Bistrot de Luxe with some good friends of ours. The theme was prohibition, so we got to wear some fun (silly?) accessories…

It was a great night, and to top it off, the food was absolutely amazing. We also had more champagne and wine than is probably recommended. But back to the food – here’s a few pictures:

Smoked salmon
Lasagne of Dorset crab & shellfish bisque
Apple tarte

Somehow I forgot to take a picture of the main – must’ve been the wine. Hope you all had a good new years!

Leave a Reply

