Personal Shopper? Yes, please!

Ok, so a few weeks ago I discovered a really fun/new (aka very dangerous) personal shopping type service, thanks to a co-worker friend of mine. She urged me to try it after testing it out herself, and I figured, why not? I don’t really love shopping here in London because everything is crazy expensive, so this seemed like a good way to fill up the needed spaces in my wardrobe.

The service is called “Stitch Fix.” You create an account on their website and fill in a personal style profile — details on your sizes, height, style preferences, etc.. After that, you schedule your fix! A stylist will look at your style profile and check any social media profiles that you choose to share with them (pinterest, for example), and then they pick 5 pieces for you. It can range from tops to purses to jewelry to dresses. You have three days once you get the pieces in the mail to decide what you want to keep, and what you want to return. After you’ve chosen what you like, you go back to the website, checkout online, pay the remaining balance, and then drop the items you don’t want back in the mail (they provide you with a prepaid package to mail them back in). It costs $20 to get the “fix” done, but if you decide to keep anything, that $20 goes towards the purchase of the items you keep. It’s a pretty good deal if you think you’ll end up keeping at least one item.
I just got my first fix this week, and it was seriously a little too much fun, and a little too exciting to get the package in the mail. I tore into the box so quickly, I forgot to take a picture beforehand with the very cute packaging all in tact, but this gives you an idea of how it looks.
First fix!
They send you a picture with all of the items and sample ways to style them, which is a nice bonus. I ended up keeping two of the five items. This tank:
And a light blue v-neck lightweight sweater. It’s cinched at the bottom and fits really well, contrary to my initial thoughts on how it would look. You can see everything that they sent in the style card here:
Skinny jeans that were a bit too long, a maxi dress that was a bit too bright, and a crossbody bag that was just not my style.

All in all, it was a pretty decent mix for the first go-round. I can only assume they’ll get better with time as my stylist gets my feedback on the stuff she sends (which you do at checkout) and as I post more stuff to Pinterest to give her more ideas of what I like. It’s a pretty great service for expats (and if it wasn’t obvious from my post, they do ship to DPOs). I’m not sure if they realized they had a potentially large market there, but it’s clear that the service is getting more and more popular — the first available spot for a fix when I tried to book a new one today was June 7th!

If you do decide to try it out, you can be awesome and use this link – https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/3647171 – to sign up, and I’ll get a $25 credit. 🙂 Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

